Faculty and Staff

Leadership

H. Sebnem Duzgun

H. Sebnem Duzgun

Associate Department Head Professor and Fred Banfield Distinguished Endowed Chair
303-384-2357
Brown Hall 268
duzgun@mines.edu

Bill Zisch

Bill Zisch

J. Steven Whisler Head of Mining Engineering Endowed Chair
303-273-3704
Brown Hall 222
billzisch@mines.edu

Faculty

Corby Anderson

Corby Anderson

Harrison-Western Professor
303-273-3580
Hill Hall 270
cganders@mines.edu

Kadri Dagdelen

Kadri Dagdelen

Professor
303-273-3711
Brown Hall 209
kdagdele@mines.edu

H. Sebnem Duzgun

H. Sebnem Duzgun

Associate Department Head Professor and Fred Banfield Distinguished Endowed Chair
303-384-2357
Brown Hall 268
duzgun@mines.edu

Elizabeth Holley

Elizabeth Holley

Associate Professor
303-273-3409
Brown Hall 216
eholley@mines.edu

Jaeheon Lee

Jaeheon Lee

Associate Professor
303-384-2132
Brown Hall 211
jaeheonlee@mines.edu

Rennie Kaunda

Rennie Kaunda

Associate Professor
303-273-3772
Brown Hall 221
rkaunda@mines.edu

Heather Lammers

Heather Lammers

Teaching Assistant Professor
303-273-3710
Brown Hall 213
hlammers@mines.edu

Hugh Miller

Hugh Miller

Associate Professor
303-273-3558
Brown Hall 215
hbmiller@mines.edu

Priscilla Nelson

Priscilla Nelson

Professor
303-384-2606
Brown Hall 218
pnelson@mines.edu

Jamal Rostami

Jamal Rostami

Professor and Alacer Gold / Haddon Endowed Chair
303-273-3041
Brown Hall 217
rostami@mines.edu

Nicole Smith

Nicole Smith

Associate Professor
303-273-3634
Brown Hall 212
nmsmith@mines.edu

Patrick R. Taylor

Patrick R. Taylor

Emeritus Ansell Distinguished Professor of Chemical Metallurgy
303-384-2130
Hill Hall 358
prtaylor@mines.edu

Paul Zink

Paul Zink

Director of Professional Masters Program
303-271-3480
Brown Hall 214
pzink@mines.edu

Bill Zisch

Bill Zisch

J. Steven Whisler Head of Mining Engineering Endowed Chair
303-273-3704
Brown Hall 222
billzisch@mines.edu

Research Faculty

Aaron Malone

Aaron Malone

Research Assistant Professor
Brown Hall 210
amalone@mines.edu

Conrad (Brock) O’Kelley

Conrad (Brock) O’Kelley

Research Associate Professor
720-412-4980
309 Hill Hall
okelley@mines.edu

Paul Queneau

Paul Queneau

Research Professor
303-273-3700
Brown Hall 239
pqueneau@mines.edu

D. Erik Spiller

D. Erik Spiller

Mining Engineering
303-882-2682
309 Hill Hall
espiller@mines.edu

Joint Faculty

Veronica Eliasson

Veronica Eliasson

Associate Professor
CoorsTek 216
303-384-2509
eliasson@mines.edu

Linda Figueroa

Linda Figueroa

Professor
303-273-3491
Coolbaugh Hall
lfiguero@mines.edu

Gabriel Walton

Gabriel Walton

Associate Professor
303-384-2235
Berthoud Hall 311A
gwalton@mines.edu

Staff

Christine Monroe

Department Manager
303-273-3701
Brown Hall 239
cmonroe@mines.edu 

Banu Yigitbas

Research Administrator
303-273-3768
Brown Hall 239
sbyigitbas@mines.edu

Bruce Yoshioka

Lab Coordinator
303-273-3737
Brown Hall 121A
yoshioka@mines.edu

Post Doctorate

Raphael Deberdt

Post Doctorate Fellow
Brown Hall 210
raphael.deberdt@mines.edu 

Mahmut Çavur

Post Doctorate Fellow
Brown Hall 254b
mahmutcavur@mines.edu 

Doga Cagdas Demirkan

Post Doctorate Fellow
Brown Hall 229
demirkan@mines.edu 

Earth Mechanics Institute

Kun Zhang

Manager, Earth Mechanics Institute
303-273-3123
kunzhang@mines.edu

Brian Asbury

Research Associate, Earth Mechanics Institute
303-273-3700
basbury@mines.edu

EMCIS

Hugh Miller headshot

Hugh Miller

Director of Research
hbmiller@mines.edu

Michelle Reiher headshot

Michelle Reiher

Director of Operations
303-384-2703
mreiher@mines.edu

Korky Vault headshot

Korky Vault

EMCIS Part 48 Instructor
303-384-2700
krvault@mines.edu

Whitney Derber headshot

Whitney Derber

Training Professional
wderber@mines.edu

David R. Lauriski headshot

David R Lauriski

Training Coordinator, Research and Technical Support
dlauriski@mines.edu

Clinton Dattel

Edgar Mine Foreman
303-567-2911
cdattel@mines.edu

Lee Fronapfel

Edgar Mine Manager
303-567-2911
lfronapf@mines.edu

Brian Asbury

Research Associate
303-273-3700
basbury@mines.edu

In 2024, the year of our 150th anniversary, we will celebrate Colorado School of Mines’ past, present and possibilities. By celebrating and supporting the Campaign for MINES@150 you will help elevate Mines to be an accessible, top-of-mind and first-choice for students, faculty, staff, recruiters and other external partners. The Mining department’s goals for Mines@150 include upgrading facilities, scholarships, and continuing to build on student experiences both in the classroom and out in the field. When you give, you are ensuring Mines becomes even more distinctive and highly sought-after by future students, alumni, industry, and government partners over the next 150 years. We look forward to celebrating Mines’ sesquicentennial with you and recognizing the key role you play in making the MINES@150 vision a reality through your investments of time, talent and treasure. Give now